• English
Print this page

What is the CBU?

Here you can find general information about what the CBU is and what it does.

The CBU is a university consortium of highly recognised universities in Russia and Finland. The CBU involves seven participating universities: two in Finland and five in Russia.  The seven CBU universities are jointly offering Master’s Degree Programmes in four fields of study.

Values of the CBU

  • Interdisciplinarity
  • Partnership
  • Cultural, national and gender equality
  • Quality awareness

CBU Master´s Degree Programmes

The two-year study programmes have been established in  accordance with the European Higher Education System. The programmes benefit from the long academic experience and the strengths and expertise of the seven participating universities. The studies are strongly oriented towards the future needs of the international labour market.

The CBU Mastr`s Degree programmes offer graduates special skills for  succeeding in the international working environment, especially  problem-solving and decision-making abilities in a multicultural context, and appreciation for diversity and concern for  quality. You can choose one of the following programmes at the CBU:

  • Forestry and Environmental Engineering
  • Information and Communications Technology
  • International Relations
  • Public Health

See our Master`s Degree Programmes 

Liisa Tahvanainen - The CBU Director

"Teachers and scientists at the seven universities on both sides of the Finnish-Russian border are offering their competences, experience and expertise to make your studies meet your expectations, to develop your personal skills and build your future! I am sure you will have a rewarding time both professionally and socially during your studies at the CBU. "

Liisa Tahvanainen